Young Audio Awards 2022 winners announced

Young Audio Awards 2022 - Picture by Ben Stevens

The much-anticipated winners if the Young Audio Awards 2022 have been revealed in a star-studded ceremony hosted by BBC Radio 1’s Jordan North and Vick Hope.

Special guests handing out awards included Scott Mills and Chris Stark, Clara Amfo, Jordan Lee, Tinea Taylor, and Reece Parkinson. 

The stars caught up with KISS breakfast’s Harriet Rose backstage, before making their announcements at the BBC Radio Theatre in London.

The awards were closed by BRIT award nominee and rising star of the music industry, Lola Young (video below).

There were a total of 12 awards given out including brand new category My Year in Audio, in partnership with mental health charity YoungMinds. 

The winning entry by Taya Walters talked about how audio was such an encouragement and support for her during the pandemic, and was announced by poet, mental health activist and the writer of 2021’s historic radio moment, the Mental Health Minute, Hussain Manawer.

Olly Parker, Head of External Affairs at YoungMinds, said: “Taya’s entry reminded us that sharing how we coped over the last two years can make a real difference in helping us cope in other tough times. 

“There is a really strong message from young people that you are not alone with your mental health. 

“If anyone is reading this and struggling with their mental health, we hope this year’s My Year in Audio has shown you that it’s okay to talk about it.”

Global Academy’s Youths Choice was recognised as Secondary School of the Year, with its pupils Zeina Addadahine and Emma Stigter also scooping awards for Rising Talent 16-18 and Best in Music respectively.

Zeina said: “I was so excited to find out that I had won the BBC Sounds Rising Talent Young Audio Award. I love making audio so much, so to receive this recognition means the world. 

“I hope to use this as a stepping stone into a career in radio.”

Awards organiser George Butler said: “A few years ago, we launched the awards for under 18s who love to make audio. 

“Despite the challenging times, young people have continued to produce amazing content, so it was great to put on an event to shine a spotlight on their incredible talent. 

“Congratulations not just to today’s winners, but to everyone that has continued to create audio during the last few years.”

Young Audio Awards 2022 full list of winners: 

BBC Sounds Rising Talent 8-11: Jack to the Future

BBC Sounds Rising Talent 12-15: Thomas Cridland

BBC Sounds Rising Talent 16-18: Zeina Addadahine

Arqiva Award for Technical Excellence: Oli Hackett

Best in Music with KISS: The Scoop – Emma Stigter

Best Speech Show with BBC Young Reporter: Luke Eveling

Achievement within the community: TH Radio in the Community

Primary School Station of the Year with Fun Kids: East Peckham Primary School

Secondary School of the Year: Youths Choice – Global Academy

Most Innovate Team sponsored by Broadcast Bionics: RMEY Faith Vibe

Best Podcast with Acast: Elsa Maria Cockburn

My Year in Audio with YoungMinds: How I Coped With Lockdown – Taya Walters