Publishing industry recognised at 42nd PPA Awards 2022

ppa awards 2022

The publishing industry gathered last night at The Grosvenor House Hotel for the annual Professional Publishers Association (PPA) Awards 

Hosted by TV presenter Tess Daly, the industry celebrated the achievements of editors, their teams and the organisations that drive the sector.

PPA Awards

The awards recognise winners in 28 categories, showcasing the best of the industry, from the writers and designers to those spearheading change and challenging the status quo in core areas of sustainability and diversity and inclusion. 

New categories added this year include: Newcomer of the Year and Future Leader of the Year.

The evening was accompanied by the award-winning AMC Gospel Choir, stars of BBC One’s Last Choir Standing.

PPA CEO Saj Merali said: “Last night was a celebration of the ingenuity, creativity and forward-thinking initiatives that are driving the success of this industry. 

ppa awards 2022 3
Winners: Congrats to all our fellow media workers at the PPA Awards 2022.

“I’d like to congratulate the shortlisted entries and the winners, who represent a cross section of specialist interest and multi-platform media on setting the benchmark of excellence so high.

“We have an exciting future ahead of us.”


Innovation of the Year: Nexus – next generation account-based marketing, Incisive Nexus, Incisive Media
Category sponsored by FT Strategies

Designer of the Year: Peter Allen, Magneto, Hothouse Media

Category sponsored by AND

Sustainability Award: Planet Hearst, Hearst UK

Category sponsored by Denmaur Paper Media

Columnist of the Year: Mark Ritson, Marketing Week, Centaur Media

Industry Partner of the Year: Marketforce

Magazine Retailer of the Year: Magazine Heaven

Podcast of the Year: The Plodcast, BBC Countryfile Magazine, Our Media

Unsung Hero of the Year: Sophie Dainty, Digital Spy, Hearst UK

Newcomer of the Year: Amy Hopkins, APA Digital AG

Future Leader of the Year: Rob Horgan, New Civil Engineer, Emap/Metropolis

Children’s Magazine of the Year: The Week Junior, Future

Diversity & Inclusion Award: Beano, DC Thomson

Category sponsored by NLA Media Access

Campaign of the Year: Monty Don book campaign, BBC Gardeners’ World, Immediate Media

Category sponsored by DSB

Content Agency of the Year: Think

Market Intelligence Brand / Product of the Year: Signal, The Lawyer, Centaur Media

Event of the Year (Business Media): Sustainable Investment Festival, Incisive Media

Category sponsored by Evessio

Event of the Year (Consumer Media): PONY Magazine Big Day Out, DJ Murphy

Category sponsored by White Space Creative Solutions

Commercial Partnership of the Year: The Big Issue together with O2: The National Databank Partnership

Category sponsored by Publishers Licensing Services (PLS)

Subscriptions Strategy of the Year: A Subscriptions Workout: Strengthening our Core and Stretching, Hearst UK

Category sponsored by ESco 

Writer of the Year: Melissa Thompson, BBC Good Food, Immediate Media

Category sponsored by CLA

Editor of the Year (Business Media): Jaimie Kaffash, Pulse, Cogora

Editor of the year (Consumer Media): Lily Barclay, and, Immediate Media

Team of the Year: Immediate People Team, Immediate Media

Category sponsored by NewsTeam Group

Cover of the Year

  • Gold: GAY TIMES, GAY TIMES Group – category sponsor Shutterstock Editorial
  • Silver: Country Life, Future
  • Bronze: BBC Wildlife, Our Media

Special Interest Magazine/Brand of the Year: Wanderlust, Wanderlust Travel Media

PPA Business Excellence Award – PPA’s Chair Award: Haymarket Media Group

PPA Media Brand of the Year (Business Media): Raconteur, Raconteur Media

Category sponsored by Affino

PPA Media Brand of the Year (Consumer Media): BBC Good Food, Immediate Media

Category sponsored by Air Business