Doctor Who 60th anniversary shows land this weekend


This weekend sees the start of the massive 60th anniversary celebrations of iconic BBC sci-fi series Doctor Who.

The TARDIS returns to BBC One and iPlayer in the UK from Saturday 25 November with the first of three Doctor Who 60th Anniversary Specials, taking viewers on an otherworldly adventure in space and time each Saturday.

The Star Beast

Doctor Who – The Star Beast (Image: BBC Studios/Bad Wolf/Disney)

The Star Beast sees the Doctor and Donna come face to face after all these years, but just how, and why, is about to be revealed.

Watch The Star Beast on BBC One and BBC iPlayer from 6.30pm on Saturday 25 November.

Wild Blue Yonder

Doctor Who – Wild Blue Yonder (Image: BBC Studios/Bad Wolf/Disney)

The second 60th anniversary special, Wild Blue Yonder, comes to BBC One and BBC iPlayer from 6.30pm on Saturday 2 December.

The Giggle

The Giggle completes the lineup.

The Giggle completes the trio of anniversary specials and will air on BBC One and BBC iPlayer in the UK from 6.30pm on Saturday 9 December.

Watch the trailer

Doctor Who 60th Anniversary Specials Cast

Joining David Tennant and Catherine Tate is a stellar cast including, Yasmin Finney as Rose Noble, Miriam Margolyes as the voice of the Meep, Jacqueline King as Sylvia Noble, Karl Collins as Shaun Temple, Ruth Madeley as Shirley Anne-Bingham, Jemma Redgrave as Kate Lethbridge-Stewart and Neil Patrick Harris as the Toymaker, set to cause all kinds of mayhem.

It’s going to be an unmissable cosmic adventure, all before Fifteenth Doctor Ncuti Gatwa gets the keys to the TARDIS over the festive season.

60 years of Doctor Who on BBC iPlayer

The TARDIS doors are being thrown wide open as BBC iPlayer welcomes the biggest collection of Doctor Who to the platform with hundreds of episodes becoming available with multiple accessibility features for the first time.

Before the Anniversary Specials hit our screens, viewers have the opportunity to travel back in time with any of the Doctors through the show’s 60 year history with the classic series, as well as explore the vast world of Doctor Who with spin-offs like the Sarah Jane Adventures, Torchwood and Class, or step behind-the-scenes with every episode of Doctor Who Confidential – all available in one place – The Whoniverse.

As the perfect companion to the back catalogue, the BBC will simultaneously launch an extensive online archive from the show’s history at, with everything from interviews with cast to written documents, long unheard audio, and behind-the-scenes photos.

Together, they tell the story of the ground-breaking series through 60 archive gems for the 60th anniversary.

The archive invites fans to delve even deeper into the show with curated journeys such as the genesis of Doctor Who, where audio from former Head of Drama, Sydney Newman alongside documents with his original handwritten notes guide you through the origins of Doctor Who.

The Whoniverse

Immerse yourself in the world of the Doctor.

Welcome to the world where you can find every Doctor, every companion and, terrifyingly, hundreds of monsters that have appeared in Doctor Who. From 1 November, The Whoniverse will become the official name, and dedicated home, for all shows within the orbit of Doctor Who which will live on BBC iPlayer.

With over 800 episodes of Doctor Who content already in the back catalogue, The Whoniverse will launch with a brand new logo, and every piece of Doctor Who content will carry a brand new ident, instantly bringing all the Doctor Who worlds together in one place and it will continuously expand.

The first exclusive content to land in the Whoniverse will be Tales of the TARDIS, a brand new six-part series that reunites beloved classic Doctor Who duos, as they board a very special TARDIS on a nostalgic voyage through space and time.

The Daleks mark Doctor Who’s 60th Anniversary

It’s time to encounter the Daleks once again, but this time in a way you’ve never seen them before.

As part of the 60th anniversary celebrations of iconic series Doctor Who, one of the show’s most renowned tales is undergoing an out of this world update as it receives an artistic colourisation.

Originally transmitted in December 1963 to February 1964, The Daleks were introduced to audiences and soon became one of the Doctor’s most formidable and enduring foes.

The story follows the very first crew of the TARDIS as they land in a petrified forest on an alien planet.

Determined to explore, the Doctor (William Hartnell) leads his companions into the metal city, where they discover danger at every corner and what will become his deadliest enemy, the mutant Daleks.

These seven original 25 minute episodes have now received a cosmic makeover, having been dazzlingly colourised and weaved together into a 75 minute blockbuster to appeal to today’s modern audiences.

With brand new sound, a brand new score – created by Mark Ayres – The Daleks has been gloriously updated, whilst ensuring the original classic story remains as thrilling as it was when it began in 1963.

And, whilst viewers can enjoy watching the colourised version of The Daleks when it arrives on 23rd November on BBC Four, it will also sit within The Whoniverse where viewers can also watch the seven part story in its original form.