Claudia Winkelman wins BBC Radio 2 Saturday mornings gig

claudia winkelman

Strictly Come Dancing co-presenter Claudia Winkelman is set to take over BBC Radio 2 on Saturday mornings from next February.

Winkelman will take over from current presenter Graham Norton, who announced earlier this month that he would be stepping back from the radio show.

The BBC said Winkelman will welcome some of the world’s most popular stars to Wogan House for a chat against a backdrop of a brilliant mix of music and musings of the day.

Winkelman and Radio 2

“I’m not often speechless but the chance to be with the wonderful Radio 2 listeners every Saturday has left me, quite frankly, gobsmacked”, Winkelman said.

“I hope my voice comes back in time for the first show as I can no longer simply rely on a fake tan and a fringe. There’s nobody I’d rather be with at the weekend, it’s a privilege and an honour.”

Helen Thomas, Head of Radio 2, said: “As Claudia is one of the UK’s best loved entertainers and a firm favourite with our listeners, I’m over the moon that she’ll be bringing her enormous warmth and wit to Saturday mornings on Radio 2.”

Winkelman joined Radio 2 in Spring 2008, hosting a comedy quiz series called Hot Gossip before moving to Friday nights to host Claudia Winkleman Arts Show.

She’s most recently presented Claudia on Sunday (7-9pm) and she has also deputised for Ken Bruce (weekdays 9.30am-midday), Steve Wright (weekdays 2-5pm) and Sara Cox (weekdays 5-7pm).

The news follows the recent announcement that Graham Norton will leave Radio 2 on Saturday 19 December.

BBC Radio 2 is the UK’s most listened to radio station, with a weekly audience of 14.4 million (Rajar Q1, 2020), delivering the broadest range of music presented by some of the UK’s best loved entertainers.

The network’s presenters include Zoe Ball, Michael Ball, Tony Blackburn, OJ Borg, Ken Bruce, Craig Charles, Rylan Clark-Neal, Fearne Cotton, Sara Cox, Jamie Cullum, Gary Davies, Vanessa Feltz, Paul Gambaccini, Bob Harris, Ana Matronic, Cerys Matthews, Huey Morgan, Trevor Nelson, Graham Norton, Paul O’Grady, Dermot O’Leary, Mark Radcliffe, Liza Tarbuck, Clare Teal, Jeremy Vine, Johnnie Walker, Jo Whiley, Claudia Winkleman and Steve Wright.