BBC confirms full line-up for Eurovision 2021

Eurovision 2021 Lineup

The BBC has confirmed its full line-up for the first Eurovision Song Contest since the UK finally left the EU.

Graham Norton will return for the Grand Final on BBC One, produced by BBC Studios, where he will be commentating live from Rotterdam. 

While Ken Bruce will continue his long-running coverage over on BBC Radio 2.

Grammy-nominated singer songwriter and presenter, Chelcee Grimes will be joining Rylan Clark-Neal and Scott Mills for the semi-finals live on BBC Four. 

Eurovision team in London

Presenting live from London, they will oversee proceedings as 33 countries compete for their place in the Grand Final. 

The semi-finals will air on 18 and 20 May on BBC Four, with UK viewers able to vote in the second semi-final on 20 May.

Graham Norton returns for his 12th Eurovision Song Contest on BBC One. After commentating last year on Eurovision: Europe Shine a Light, he will return to his coveted post for this year’s live Grand Final.

Actress and singer, Amanda Holden will be taking the reins of the Eurovision Spokesperson, where she will be delivering the results of the UK professional jury vote live from London. 

She follows in the illustrious footsteps of Nigella Lawson, Mel Giedroyc, Richard Osman, Alex Jones, Cheryl Baker, Katrina Leskanich from Katrina & The Waves, and Lorraine Kelly.

The last Eurovision Song Contest Grand Final to be broadcast on BBC One in 2019 was the most watched music programme on the BBC that year and it was the most popular music TV show of the year amongst 16-34s.

UK entry

Multi-platinum selling, Brit award-winning and Grammy nominated singer-songwriter James Newman will be representing the UK with his single Embers, released by BMG after the renewed collaboration with BBC Studios for the contest.

This year the Eurovision Song Contest will be broadcast live from Rotterdam, after the competition was cancelled in 2020 because of the Covid-19 pandemic.

“I’m so excited for Eurovision to return, after the past year we’ve had it’s exactly the kind of joy the world needs”, Graham Norton said. 

“The UK have a great entry with James Newman and Embers, it’s a banger and represents everything that Eurovision is. It’s arguably the best night of the year and I can’t wait – bring it on!”

Ken Bruce said: “Radio 2 is getting right behind Eurovision 2021 with shows galore to delight all the fans. We’re all so delighted the competition is back this year. 

“On the night I’ll be presenting the live show from my hot seat at Wogan House – bringing listeners all the entries, all the drama and, of course, the ultimate winner! 

“Will it be the UK’s year to finally win again? I can’t wait to find out!”

Amanda Holden said: “What an honour to announce the UK’s votes this year. I’m utterly thrilled. It’s an ambition ticked after 45 years of watching it! Now, what to wear…”

Eurovision features

Today marks the launch of one of the BBC’s social videos, called Ready, Steady, Eurovision, featuring Rylan Clark-Neal, James Newman and TV icon, Rustie Lee. 

Rylan talks through his favourite Eurovision performances, whilst Rustie cooks up some classic Dutch dishes. 

Later this month the BBC launch Eurovision and Chill on its social channels, where Lady Leshurr and Rob Rinder watch some of this years entries and give their expert opinions. 

These will be available via Twitter (@bbceurovision) Instagram (bbceurovision) and Facebook (BBC Eurovision).

The BBC’s Eurovision coverage is a BBC Studios production, commissioned by Kate Phillips, Director of Entertainment. 

The Executive Producer and Head Of Delegation is Andrew Cartmell, and the series producer and Assistant Head of Delegation is Lee Smithurst. Suzy Lamb is the MD for BBC Studios Entertainment and Music and Mel Balac is the Creative Director. The Commissioning Editor for the BBC is Rachel Ashdown.

The 65th Eurovision Song Contest will take place in Rotterdam, Netherlands. 

The Semi Finals will be broadcast on 18 and 20 May on BBC Four. 

The Grand Final will be broadcast on 22 May on BBC One and also on BBC Radio 2 and BBC Sounds.