BBC acquires AMC Networks’ hit Interview with the Vampire


The BBC has acquired AMC Networks’ smash hit drama Interview with the Vampire, based on Anne Rice’s best-selling novel, for BBC Two and BBC iPlayer.

Interview with the Vampire

The seven-part series stars Jacob Anderson (Game of Thrones, Doctor Who, Broadchurch), Sam Reid (The Newsreader, Prime Suspect 1973, Lambs of God), Bailey Bass (Avatar: Way of Water), Eric Bogosian (Succession, Billions, Uncut Gems) and Assad Zaman (Hotel Portofino).

It follows Louis de Pointe du Lac (Jacob Anderson), Lestat de Lioncourt (Sam Reid) and Claudia (Bailey Bass) and their epic story of love, blood and the perils of immortality, as told to journalist Daniel Molloy (Eric Bogosian).

Chafing at the limitations of life as a Black man in 1900s New Orleans, Louis finds it impossible to resist the rakish Lestat’s offer of the ultimate escape: joining him as his vampire companion.

But Louis’ intoxicating new powers come with a violent price, and the introduction of Lestat’s newest fledgling, the child vampire Claudia, soon sets them on a decades-long path of revenge and atonement.

Sue Deeks, Head of BBC Programme Acquisition, said: “Interview with the Vampire is a sumptuous, sensual, complex and disturbing treat.

“Anchored by the charismatic lead performances of Jacob Anderson and Sam Reid, the series stays true to the gothic spirit of Anne Rice’s eternally popular novels, whilst sympathetically re-imagining her world for a new generation.”

Interview with the Vampire (7 x 60) was acquired by the BBC from AMC Networks.

Executive producers on the series include co-creator, showrunner and writer Rolin Jones (Perry Mason, Friday Night Lights), Mark Johnson (Breaking Bad, Better Call Saul, Halt and Catch Fire, Rectify) and Alan Taylor (The Sopranos, Mad Men, Game of Thrones) as well as Mark McNair who served as co-executive producer.

The series was produced by Jessica Held and Adam O’Byrne as well as co-produced by Oliver Coke.

The series was directed by Alan Taylor (episodes 101 & 102), Keith Powell (103 & 104), Levan Akin (105 & 106) and Alexis Ostrangder (107).